What do you mean by Test Case? What are the structure of test plan? Explain with an example.


Test case has components that describes and input, action on event and a expected response to determine if a feature of an application is working correctly.

Levels of Test Case

There are four levels of test cases:
  1. Level 1: Basic test cases are from application specific
  2. Level 2: Practical stage in which writing test cases depends on actual functional and system flow of the application.
  3. Level 3: Group some test cases and write a test procedure where 0<n<=10
  4. Level 4: Automation of the project


  • Test Case Id
  • Unit to test
  • Assumptions
  •  Test data
  • Steps to be executed
  • Expected result
  • Pass/fail
  • Comments

Structure of test Plan

  1. Test plan identifier
  2. Introduction 
  3. Test item
  4. Features to be tested
  5. Features not be tested
  6. Approach
  7. Items pass/fail criteria
  8. Suspension criteria and resumption criteria
  9. Test deliverables
  10. Testing tasks
  11. Environment needs
  12. Responsibilities
  13. Schedule
  14. Risk and contingencies
  15. Approvals


Feel free to contact the admin for any suggestions and help.